Lefse Legal Records

Bartholomew County Jail

The operation and maintenance of Bartholomew County Jail in Indiana are overseen by the Indiana Department of Corrections. The administrative team ensures security by providing inmate escort services to and from court proceedings. The facility primarily serves as a holding place for multiple inmates from Bartholomew County who are awaiting their court appearances and sentencing.


Bartholomew County Jail accommodates individuals accused of misdemeanor offenses within Bartholomew County who are unable to post bail or are awaiting their scheduled court dates. The facility accepts detainees who have been arrested by law enforcement agencies, including the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Office deputies, the Columbus Police Department, and federal agencies.


Guidelines for Visiting the Jail

Visitation Schedule: The visiting hours at Bartholomew County Jail are determined based on the cell assignment of the inmate. These hours may be subject to change if the inmate is relocated due to their own request or for other reasons. Currently, visitation is conducted on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm.


Visitor Requirements: To visit an inmate, all visitors must be at least 18 years old and are required to present a valid photo ID as identification.



Cash bonds can be submitted at the Clerk’s Office from Monday to Friday, between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm. For bonds submitted after 5:00 pm, payment should be made directly at the jail. Both cash and credit card bonds are accepted at the jail for your convenience.


To ascertain the incarceration status of an individual, please contact the designated phone number: 812-565-5968. They will provide you with the necessary information regarding the presence of the person in jail.



It is important to note that Bartholomew County Jail no longer accepts personal property from visitors or inmates. This includes clothing and footwear, as these items can now be purchased through the commissary. However, the facility will not accept any book donations or personal books for inmates.


Bartholomew County Sheriff Department

Sheriff Chris Lane assumed office as the 59th Sheriff of Bartholomew County on November 8, 2022, following an uncontested victory in both the primary and general election. Sworn in on December 30, 2022, Sheriff Lane embarked on his first term with a clear focus on his outlined priorities.


With a remarkable career spanning over 30 years in law enforcement, Sheriff Lane has gained extensive experience in various roles, including patrol, supervision, administration, and investigations. From 2015 to 2022, he served as the Chief Deputy of the Bartholomew County Sheriff’s Department. Notably, in 2019, Sheriff Lane graduated from the prestigious FBI National Academy, an achievement reserved for less than 1% of law enforcement professionals in the United States.


Sheriff Lane’s commitment to the community and the law enforcement officers under his command remains unwavering. Throughout his tenure, he has placed significant emphasis on drug enforcement, operational efficiency, innovation, employee retention, as well as the mental and physical well-being of law enforcement personnel. Additionally, Sheriff Lane actively fosters partnerships with community organizations and law enforcement agencies, working closely with the Columbus Police Department, Indiana State Police, DEA, FBI, local fire departments, first responders, and prosecutors. He continues to serve as a voice for law enforcement in community initiatives, aiming to strengthen the practice of Community Policing.


Overview of Bartholomew County

Bartholomew County is situated in the state of Indiana, United States. As of the 2020 census, the county had a population of 82,208. The county seat is Columbus. Notably, in 1900, the U.S. Census Bureau determined that Bartholomew County housed the mean center of the U.S. population. It is part of the Columbus, Indiana Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is included in the larger Indianapolis-Carmel-Muncie Combined Statistical Area.


Established on February 12, 1821, Bartholomew County was named in honor of Lt. Col. Joseph Bartholomew, who was wounded during the Battle of Tippecanoe. The county seat, initially suggested to be named Tiptona in tribute to John Tipton, was selected by a team of commissioners on February 15, 1821.


The present-day Bartholomew County courthouse was constructed between 1870 and 1874 by McCormack and Sweeney of Columbus, at a cost of $225,000. Designed by architect Isaac Hodgson, a Belfast-born immigrant who arrived in the United States in 1848, the courthouse features the characteristic mansard roofs of the Second Empire French style. It is primarily built with brick and displays an asymmetrical “L” shape, allowing it to face two prominent streets in Columbus. The east facade bears a high inscription indicating the names of the commissioners, architect, and construction date. Adjacent to the courthouse stands the Bartholomew County Veterans Memorial, designed by American architect Charles Rose.


Covering a total area of 409.52 square miles (1,060.7 km2), Bartholomew County comprises 406.91 square miles (1,053.9 km2) of land (99.36%) and 2.62 square miles (6.8 km2) of water (0.64%). The northwestern corner of the county is occupied by Camp Atterbury.


Additional Resources

Bartholomew County Jail Inmate Search
Bartholomew County Jail Mugshots


Bartholomew County Jail

543 2nd St.

Columbus, IN 47201, USA